Ten Point Program of the Halliwick Concept

At the Halliwick concept you are asked constantly to solve your balance problems in trial and error situations through The Ten Point Program.

The Ten Points are a process of development which leads to personal independence in the water through the essential components of motor learning.

The Ten Point Program was devised by James McMillan to teach swimming to all. It is the basis of the Halliwick Concept and gives areas to work at in the water. It also acts as an assessment guide.

The Ten Points follow a logical pattern but there is a great deal of overlap in the points. All points must be mastered to produce a swimmer who is truly ‘water happy’.

The Ten Points Are:

Mental Adjustment

Being able to respond appropriately to a different environment, situation or task. The learning of breath control.


An ongoing process throughout the learning by which the swimmer becomes physically and mentally independent.

Transversal Rotation Control

The ability to control any rotation made about a front-transversal axis.

Sagittal Rotation Control

The ability to control any rotation made about a sagittal-transversal (anterior/posterior) axis.

Longitudinal Rotation Control

The ability to control any rotation made about a sagittal-frontal (longitudinal) axis.

Combined Rotation Control

The ability to control any combination of rotations.


Trusting the water and realize you will float and not sink.

Balance in stillness

Floating still and relaxed in the water. This is dependent on both mental and physical balance control. When balanced, other activities can be performed more easily.

Turbulent Gliding

A floating swimmer is moved through the water by an instructor without any physical contact between them. The swimmer has to control unwanted rotations but makes no propulsive movements.

Simple Progression and Basic Swimming Stroke

The development from simple propulsive movements made by the swimmer to a stroke which may be individual to each swimmer.